Here comes Scotland

I spent yesterday packing all my worldly possessions into the basement of my long-suffering parents to prepare for my reporting trip around the world, so I missed the news that Scotland was poised to vote to legalize gay marriage. This from the BBC:

Scotland could become the first part of the UK to introduce gay marriage after the SNP government announced plans to make the change.

Ministers confirmed they would bring forward a bill on the issue, indicating the earliest ceremonies could take place by the start of 2015.

Scotland’s deputy first minister, Nicola Sturgeon, said: “We are committed to a Scotland that is fair and equal and that is why we intend to proceed with plans to allow same-sex marriage and religious ceremonies for civil partnerships – we believe that this is the right thing to do.

This provoked a strong backlash from the new Archbishop of Glasgow, Philip Tartaglia, who said he could imagine someday being imprisoned for opposing same-sex marriage.

“I could see myself going to jail possibly at some point over the next 15 years, if God spares me, if I speak out,” he said in a TV interview reported on by the Catholic News Agency.

The BBC brings us more of the reactions from Scottish leaders on the decision.

Leave a Reply

